Change? Really?

Well these days, I think I’m changing up how I do blog posts and focus on content vs format.

To speak of change, it seems that every class and seminar that I have been to lately focus on change and human behavior (including my present graduate class).

The central theme is that we can’t change people. The change has to come within. Ironically, I laugh at this when I see Corporate America trying to change people to fit the idea “corporate” associate instead of just working with who they have. Guidelines, maybe we need a few, but just how many guidelines are required before you loose personal identities that lead towards shutting down creativity and then loosing your chance at the latest invention, solving your budget crisis, taking your organization to the next level?

The next time you like to change someone, think twice. Think rather, how may I use their uniqueness? If behavior is still an issue, have some emotional intelligence to confront and manage the situation. That associate turn around may become your highest performer.

Until next time, enjoy the season change,
Bryon

Leave a Reply

