Networking Roulette: Spin the wheel, here is your next contact!

In October 2010 of this year, I was provided a unique opportunity to participate in an online networking event called Network Roulette, sponsored by BrazenCareerist.com.  If it is one thing that I have learned in my professional career, it is networking…whether you have a job or do not have a job!  Being a part of the Network Roulette beta group, this had been the first time I have been involved in an online speed networking activity – an experience that I truly enjoyed.

What would be the purpose of Network Roulette for me? I would encourage any one that is desiring to grow their professional contacts, job search, advice, share new ideas, discover new clients and leads to be apart of this event.  After all, online networking is a way to investment in others and in your career – saving you time, energy, and eliminating the hassle of traditional networking.  For me, the BrazenCareerist.com site has been huge accountability group for me to advance myself further in my professional endeavors.  I look forward in meeting others and developing good sound professional contacts using this cool social network tool.

Unlike traditional networking, participants are randomly matched with other professionals after answering two simple profile questions: “What are you looking for?” and “What are you providing?” The fun begins with the next step where you have up to 3 minutes of online conversation to determine if the person on the other side can help with their network.  I remember for me, I made an instant connection with someone that had traveled to my state and had dinner at a popular eatery.  It is amazing the different things a person is able to use to make a connection with in 3 minutes – “you have to stay on your cyber toes, that’s for sure”.

After the initial meeting, BrazenCareerist.com offers the participants an option to choose to follow up after the session by providing a network dashboard. The nice thing about this, you are able to control who you meet and when – a convenience to avoid crowded happy hours, traffic, unwanted exchanges, and awkward introductions.

And as always, a list of upcoming events and topic-specific events will also be available on the BrazenCareerist.com website.  Hope to see you there!

Click on Network Roulette to learn more from the YouTube video…

Leave a Reply

