Scheduling Play Time

This week I took some time off to play around in the music studio to do some recordings and to finish my artistic website for BECM Productions.  This was my way of relaxing after the holiday rush which included 9 hours in the kitchen cooking in addition to four hours at the local dealership to have two vehicles serviced.

Rule 101

Playing around in the studio is definitely a change of pace for me and getting more exposed to my recording software (a new kind of stress).  This is also an opportunity for me to spend time with one of the many things I’m passion about in life: performing arts.  In this whole process I also learned that before I perform any recordings, I need to totally restart my laptop or suffer the consequences of distorted recordings.  This is to ensure a fresh operating mode for the recording as I spent countless hours re-recording audio clips to obtain the quality that I desire because of no restart.  Being the tech savvy person that I am, I find it very challenging to see how intuitively I am able to learn the software (Cakewalk SONAR 8.3) on my own without consulting the manuals or guides.  So far, I’ve only had to reference back once in this process to figure out how to edit sections of a track that I did not want in my recordings.  I’m sure there will be more times in the future that I’ll have to consult the manual.  However, for the drum machine that is sitting on the keyboard collecting dust, that’s a different story – but not out of my league to master yet!

For All Other Rules

Being in the studio has had a few trade offs as well as I’ve been MIA (Missing In Action) for a few social events with friends.  For every action, there is an opposite and equal reaction that occurs per Newton’s laws of motion.  That is true for the social scene at times when one goes to pursue a passion or desire.  This type of change takes a little adjusting for everyone around you as you shift your life’s focus point and how you allocate and spend your time.  Communication and having something to show for your MIA is a key component in staying connected with those you love and those who may remain supportive for your new desires and goals.

What Truly Applies in Life

As a leader during this holiday season, are you thinking about what your focus will be for 2010?  For me, it has taken almost a year to obtain the support, courage, learning, and knowledge to perform the recording samples I made this week.  To accomplish this endeavor, I reconnected with some old friends I have not seen in a while who encouraged me to move forward beyond all obstacles I have been facing to launch the business website and perform the recordings.  This move also required me to seek counsel from a life coach as well to move beyond the gremlins that have keep me behind in making this move.  In this process I have had may restarts throughout 2009 in pursuing one of my many passions in life.

Result of Rule 101

As we approach the end of 2009, how well have you accomplished your goals for the year?  What is the one thing that you want to accomplish in the new year to come and what are the steps to achieve this?  What type of support network and resources do you need to tap into so that 2010 will be deemed successful for you?  How much playtime do you desire in your life so that you may not only enjoy life but also allows you to have a greater focus on 2010 goals?  Do you need to do a “reboot” for a clean fresh start to operate life in 2010?

Key: No More Rules

There are many aspirations and goals that I have for 2010 like to write material for tour with local stage company (Wild Thyme Players), CAPM certification, seeking counsel for grad school, possible music director for full fledge Shakespeare play, helping to grow local Smoky Mountain ASTD chapter (ASTD = American Society of Training and Development), and somewhere there is work & sleep.  For me, it will be crucial to schedule some “play time” to accomplish all that I desire for 2010.  Please share, what does your 2010 look like?

2 thoughts on “Scheduling Play Time

  1. Hello Bryon!

    As you know I have been working hard to grow my company into a major enterprise that will postively affect the world for decades to come. What you might not know is that I have gone through a deeper rebranding to help me do that more effectively. Below is my revised mission, vision, and core values statement:

    Mission Statement:
    Shift™ is dedicated to empowering others to live their lives “on purpose” through cultivating a C.E.O. mindset so they wake up every day excited about the possibilities and maintain an unwavering belief that they can overcome any obstacles to achieve their personal and professional goals and dreams more easily and consistently.

    Vision Statement:
    Our vision is to inspire a mindset shift across the globe through powerful yet practical programs, products, and presentations which help people develop a C.E.O. mindset in order to boldly take back control of every area their life, resulting in a greater sense of freedom, joy, and fulfillment personally and professionally.

    Core Values:
    Shift™ holds high standards of integrity, excellence, sincerity, and honesty which are the four cornerstones that lay the foundation for every possibility-rich environment designed to be filled with laughter, encouragement, and affirmation, leading to endless personal and professional growth opportunities.

    So to answer your question, my plans for 2010 are to continue to develop strategic partnerships (I’d love to brainstorm with you about how we might work together to impact your local community in a deeper way), create more products, and develop more services that people want to support them in achieving the life they truly desire.

    I really enjoy reading your blog, Bryon, and know that others are gaining a lot of benefit from reading it as well!

    Enjoy your holiday season!

    ~ Kris Cavanaugh
    http://www.begintoshift.com

Leave a Reply

